Ask Angela: “Life of the party” with everyone else, tired with me

 

Boys playing beach volleyball
bros playing volleyball and ignoring their girlfriends

Title: Ask Angela: “Life of the party” with everyone else, tired with me

Tease: When he’s around other people, he’s the man that I love.

Dear Angela: Last weekend was the big young single adult trip to Duck Beach in North Carolina. I wasn’t planning on going this year because I’ve been dating someone for the past 10 months, and I thought it might be more fun to have a relaxing long weekend together, just the two of us. But he said he wanted to go to reconnect with some of his friends who would be down there so I agreed and we went.

Long story short, I had a terrible time. Even before we went to the beach I’ve noticed that whenever I have friends around he’s funny and charming and wonderful, or if he has friends around he’s down for anything and always making jokes etc., but when it’s just me he’s quiet and unenthusiastic and just blah.

I’ve kind of brushed it aside for the past two months but at the beach this past weekend the contrast between how he is during our alone time and how he is with other people was undeniable. I don’t get it. If he doesn’t want to be with me or if I make him feel “bored and tired” then why doesn’t he just break up with me? Should I confront him about this behavior or just deal with it. What do you think?

###

Readers, were you at Duck beach? Have you ever felt like your SO (significant other) was “blah?” Should this girl break up with this guy? Will it get worse when/if they get married? What do you do if your husband is “blah?” Are you “blah?” 

 

One thought on “Ask Angela: “Life of the party” with everyone else, tired with me

  1. It could be that he feels relaxed and easy around you, with no need to ‘perform’ or ‘put on an act’ for you, The only way to know, is to talk to him about it.

Leave a Reply

