“I’d want to serve anywhere but Temple Square.”

This was my last General Conference as a missionary, I was serving with Sister Silva from Brazil. We’re posing with friend’s of my sister’s.

I laugh every time I think of the above quotation. “I’d want to serve anywhere but Temple Square.” A dear friend of mine said that to me a few weeks before I received my mission call. I didn’t know anything about Temple Square (didn’t know it was a mission, didn’t know what it looked like, it was so far from my mind) but after she said that I remember thinking, “Yeah, I don’t want to go there either…but there are 1 billion missions so, really, come on, what are the odds? I have nothing to worry about.”

Anyway, as luck would have it, that’s where I was assigned, and so that’s where I went!

I literally thank God daily for that opportunity.

I get a lot of ” Ask Angela” questions from soon-to-be missionaries who are worried about where they’ll be sent on their missions. Or, they’ve already received their calls and aren’t excited about the assignment. After all, some feel that Idaho is not as glamorous as Zambia or they always imagined themselves speaking a different language on the streets of Moscow not riding a bike through rural Wyoming.

I want you to know that it’s okay to feel a twinge of “Man, I wish I were going some place else, some place ‘cooler’,” but I also promise you that as soon as you get there, it won’t matter. There will be work to do, people to serve, and at the end you won’t want to leave.

Today, six years ago (ah!) I left for the Missionary Training Center and it’s the best thing I’ve ever done! And, it is just CRAAAZY that it has been 6 years since I left.

So much love to the new friends I made, the people who welcomed me into their homes, my family who wrote me a million letters…and to my little brother who is carrying the Trusty name on his own mission!

photo (17)
This is one of my favorite pictures of him! He looks great and so does the background! Home Jan 2015!

xo

Angela

Leave a Reply

