Reason #457 to remember someone’s name; besides the fact that it’s just good manners

Overheard: 

Guy: Hi, I can’t remember your name, but would you mind offering the prayer to open Sacrament meeting.

Girl: I tell you what, since I’ve introduced myself to you the past 3 Sundays and I gave you a ride to institute last Wednesday, I’ll say the prayer when you can remember my name.

Guy: Oh, okay…I’m just really bad with names.

Girl: No problem.

Guy:  ::uncomfortable silence…exits pew left::

End Scene

You might be thinking this girl’s response was a little harsh, she definitely got some looks after she said it. But I’m with her on this. Especially if she went out of her way to do you a favor, knowing her name is the least you can do.

Better luck next time!

3 thoughts on “Reason #457 to remember someone’s name; besides the fact that it’s just good manners

  1. There are people whom I’ve known for years, had in depth conversations with and even participated in activities with — WHOSE NAMES i JUST KNOW OR REMEMBER. Think your view is pretty harsh. There are people who just are not good with details like names

    1. Since I’m also awful at names, if I’m about to approach someone whose name I forget, I usually ask someone else the person’s name.

Leave a Reply

