Ask Angela: I have a terrible reputation

Dear Angela: 

You know when people talk about needy Mormon girls who fall in love with a guy if he so much as looks at them? I’m that girl, or at least I’ve been that girl for the past 6 years of my life. I feel like I’m coming out of that desperate phase, but the rep still follows me. What can I do? 

Thanks, 

That girl

Dear That girl,

Don’t worry, we’ve all been (or at least felt like) that desperate girl at one time or another.

Something I’ve realized recently is that people aren’t thinking about you as much as you may think they are. Meaning, they’ve got their own problems, struggles, and reputation to worry about – so if you’re ready to re-invent yourself, get to it.

People will allow it, and even if they don’t, who cares, you know you’ve changed, and that is what counts.

xo

Angela

Readers: Singles wards are so small, what happens if you get a reputation that you don’t like?

One thought on “Ask Angela: I have a terrible reputation

  1. I was that girl 20 years ago on my singles ward. I did the best I could to fix my reputation. And my bishop did not help the problem. I changed wards and got a fresh start. But forgiveness of yourself helps too.

    I am now married to the former Elders Quorum President from the ward where I had that bad reputation. When I saw him years later we developed a friendship and eventually a relationship. He saw me through different eyes after I removed myself from shall we say the “scene of the crime.” I just wish all those people I including my former bishop could seeme now. In the end I fixed it with help from a new more understanding ward and bishop. I know you can do it too! It is everyone elses’s problem for gossiping and not allowing you to change. Surround yourself with people who lift you up instead of tearing you down. Best of luck! Everyone deserves the chance to grow and change without judgement.

Leave a Reply

