“If God wanted you to have a tattoo you would have been born with one.”

I wrote an article the other day for the Deseret News that addressed this girl’s question about her new tattoo and an upcoming family trip. She said,

“I’m going on a beach vacation with my ultra-conservative Christian family, and I have a tattoo they are totally unaware of and would 100 percent disapprove of. That tattoo itself is not offensive; it’s the fact that I have a tattoo at all that is offensive to them.”

She went on to ask for advice on how she could tell them about the tattoo (so she could enjoy the trip, without them thinking that she’s living some crazy Sons of Anarchy lifestyle)

You can read the full article here.

Side Note: I’ve never seen Sons of Anarchy, but I hear I’m missing out. 

A reader, who responded to this article said, “If God wanted you to have a tattoo you would have been born with one.”

.  . . 

Right? 

I immediately thought of all of the things that I have that are good, but that I wasn’t born with. 1. A college degree, 2. A drivers license 3. My younger siblings 4. A toothbrush 5. my cell phone etc., etc., The logic above was just ridiculous.

Anyway, I get it, as Latter-day Saints we’re taught not to get tattoos. We’re also taught how to help other people when they’re in distress. So, why throw the God – card in this girl’s face when she’s just asking for help? 

Maybe I’m overreacting, but It’s hard not to be protective of the people who write into my column, they share a little piece of their lives in hopes that they can get some help – it’s a very vulnerable place to be. So, I guess I just want to say thank you to the many voices who offered help and understanding to this person (and many others who have written to the Ask Angela column) – judgement is tempting, and we’re all guilty of it at some point or another – but in the end it doesn’t feel good and it doesn’t really help. 

Like us on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

