To those who aren’t sure “What to be when they grow up”

 

Image
Not sure what to be when you grow up? That’s okay!

I remember when I first graduated from college and finished my mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, I was so frustrated because I could not decide on “what to be when I grew up.”

I prayed about it, studied it out, thought about my interests (there are a million) and even though I was full of faith and energy, I didn’t receive any answers. How could this be? “I guess God doesn’t care about my life at all!” I, admittedly, thought.

A few years have passed since that great struggle and I’m not sure I’m any closer to the answer to that question except that maybe there isn’t one.

What I mean is, we’re human beings, children of God, with unlimited potential – why in the world should we have to limit our life’s mission to one thing? If one can teach, speak, write, draw, problem solve, paint, mentor and influence others for good in a myriad of ways, should we not “push every worthy work along?”

I think we should. I think we can.

So my advice today is to not be so quick to stick yourself into a box, especially in your youth. Put your shoulder to many wheels all with the intent of blessing the lives of those around you. 

 

Love you!

Ange

Join our Facebook group!

Follow on Twitter @askange_column

3 thoughts on “To those who aren’t sure “What to be when they grow up”

  1. I had that tag line for more than 30 years now and still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up and I am pushing 51. Don’t get me wrong I make a good living, have great adventures at work, and enjoy what I do for work most of the time. But I couldn’t tell you what I do for work, I can’t explain to others what my job is, and that is really OK; sometimes there just isn’t enough common experiences with most people for it take make any sense. I think I have been able to find the niche where my skills fit the market place. Currently my work requires skills and experience that I learned from every single job I have ever had. I look forward to the next one that will do the same including what I learned from the current one. That is my life and that still leaves the question of what I want to be when I grow up; if you can’t explain what it is then you can’t be it either.

Leave a Reply

