3 Ways to feel great during the holidays | Ask Angela

happy-holidays

This has been such a great holiday season – and that’s not always the case for me! I’m sure I’m not the only one who has experienced some anxiety around the Holidays, so I wanted to share some things I tried this year that have made all the difference: 

  1. Keep your relationships strong throughout the year. Last year I wasn’t keeping in touch with people, so when I saw them around the holidays, I felt kind of like the odd man out in the family. This past year I made a resolution to not only call my loved ones, but to make extra efforts to visit them and  be a part of their lives. Coming home this year, it felt like I was seeing my very best friends. 
  2. Remember, nothing needs to be perfect. Gifts don’t need to be perfect, the house doesn’t need to be perfect, the pictures don’t need to be perfect, the food doesn’t need to be perfect, we don’t need to be perfect… Everything can go completely NOT as planned, and it can still be a great time.
  3. Christ was born and that is amazing. Find small ways to reflect on the reason for the season. For me, this is a time to celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ – it’s not about my anxieties and my expectations. That’s a really humbling thought. This season may mean something different to you, whatever it means, reflect on that. Feel joy because of that and allow that purpose to fill your heart and mind with gladness. 

 

We at the Ask Angela column want to wish you and your loved ones a wonderful holiday season. Are there ways that you feel joy during the holiday season? Share in the comments!

Love,

Angela

Leave a Reply

