Tip #32: Do something and see Abolitionists the movie | Ask Angela

I went to see The Abolitionists last night – it’s a documentary about Tim Ballard and his team of abolitionists who are fighting to end the trafficking of children. 

For me, it was a moving film. I was moved by how much Ballard involved his faith in his quest as well as the ability of young rescued children to still find meaning and hope in their lives after enduring such terrible circumstances. 

I was also moved by the facts about how large the problem is – Human trafficking is the fastest growing international crime you can read more here.

Like most people in the audience I left the movie thinking a variety of things – 

  1. How can I help? Like, help for real?

  2. Even if I did help, would that help make a difference?

  3. Are my problems even real?? Comparatively speaking?

I don’t have answers for these, I’m still thinking. But a very powerful thought that I had all night last night was the idea that while we can’t do everything, we can do something. And a big and powerful focus of our lives can be to do something. This applies to challenges as large and as pervasive as human trafficking, but it also applies to the simple struggles that you face in your daily life. Maybe it all can’t be changed, fixed, or improved at once. But you can still do something. 

So what do you want to do?

Share your thoughts in the comments, and I’ll see you tomorrow!

 

Love,

Angela

Leave a Reply

